NBPAS responds to ABIM announcement on 2-3-2015


NBPAS responds to ABIM announcement on 2-3-2015

NBPAS opens its enrollment to American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS) non-surgical specialties.

February 3, 2015

Today’s press release by the ABIM is clearly a step in the right direction. Suspending the practice assessment and patient safety requirements of the MOC program was a good decision. Plans for a more open dialog resulting in future MOC updates are welcome. However, it must be stressed that the changes disclosed today are only a very partial, incomplete fix. The remaining MOC requirements are still onerous, not clinically relevant and too expensive – and no adjustments to the price structure has been announced. The ABIM’s message today validates the discontent that has been expressed on this issue by so many.

Two weeks ago the National Board of Physicians and Surgeons (www.NBPAS.org) launched an alternative continuous board certification program (at a markedly lower cost) which already has hundreds of applicants. Today, NBPAS opened its enrollment to most of the American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS) non-surgical specialties. Life-long learning does not come in a one size fits all package. No single program will ever meet everyone’s needs.  NBPAS provides physician’s with a much needed alternative. We encourage you to visit the website (www.NBPAS.org) and to support this less time consuming and less expensive approach.

Contact person:
Paul Teirstein, M.D.,
President, National Board of Physicians and Surgeons,
2067 North Marshall Ave.
San Diego, CA 92020


NBPAS Board Members:

Paul Teirstein, M.D., President NBPAS, Chief of Cardiology, Scripps Clinic
David John Driscoll, M.D., Professor of Pediatrics, Mayo Clinic College of Medicine
Daniel Einhorn, M.D., Immediate-Past President, American College of Endocrinology; Past President, American Association of Clinical Endocrinologists
Bernard Gersh, M.D., Professor of Medicine, Mayo Clinic College of Medicine
C. Michael Gibson, M.D., Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School
J. Marc Pipas, M.D., Professor of Medicine, Dartmouth School
Jeffrey Popma, M.D., Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School
Harry E. Sarles Jr. M.D., FACG, Immediate Past President for the American College of Gastroenterology
Gregg W. Stone, M.D., Professor of Medicine, Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons
Eric Topol, M.D., Chief Academic Officer, Scripps Health; Director, Scripps Translational Science Institute
Bonnie Weiner, M.D., Professor of Medicine, University of Massachusetts Medical School
Mathew Williams, M.D., Chief, Division of Adult Cardiac Surgery, New York University Medical Center