The National Board of Physicians and Surgeons

Founded in 2015, the National Board of Physicians and Surgeons (NBPAS) provides physicians with a choice in continuous board certification that is clinically rigorous, evidence-based, less burdensome, and nationally accepted.

NPBAS certifies physicians in all 50 states and is accepted by many hospitals, health systems, telemedicine companies, and insurance companies. NBPAS is a 501c(3) not-for-profit organization with unpaid, volunteer physician leadership.

NBPAS Requirements:

  • MD or DO only
  • Previous board certification through ABMS or AOA required, no exceptions
  • Active and unrestricted medical license
  • 50 hours of ACCME accredited AMA PRA Category 1 CME™ every 24 months (100 hours if ABMS/AOA certification has lapsed)
  • Renewal required every 2 years
  • Cost: $189 every two years. Discounts are available for fellows and military.

NBPAS is an independent organization and is not affiliated with the American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS).

Other Important Facts

  • Thirteen states have passed legislation prohibiting MOC/OCC as a requirement for medical licensing, hospital privileges and payor reimbursement.
  • The anti-competitive nature of the ABMS MOC product caught the attention of the U.S. Department of Justice (DOJ), Antitrust Division. On September 10, 2018, the DOJ published guidance that strongly encouraged competition in physician certification. Read More
  • The American Medical Association (AMA) issued a resolution stating that MOC/OCC should not be a mandated requirement for licensure, credentialing, payment, network participation or employment. Read More
  • The ABMS released a Vision Commission report (2019) on MOC concluding that “ABMS must encourage hospitals, health systems, payers and other health care organizations to not deny credentialing or privileging to a physician solely on the basis of certification.”

To learn more please contact Executive Director Katie Collins at
Media/Speaker Request: